Monsanto Employees Come Through for Those in Need

March 2, 2010

Monsanto employees survey the damage to a building after the earthquake in Chile over the weekend.

Charitable giving is an element of good citizenship. Today, Monsanto was named one of the 100 Best Corporate Citizens. It’s a nice recognition for the company, but I chose to focus on the global citizenship of our employees.

On this past Saturday morning, I checked my Facebook account over a cup of coffee and saw a post from a work colleague:

“Thinking of all our Monsanto Chile employees and hoping that everyone is safe.”

That’s how I found out about the earthquake in Chile. And like my co-worker, my thoughts immediately fled to the couple of hundred Monsanto employees we have in the region. Were they okay? Were they accounted for? (We’ve contacted most, but are still trying to get in contact with a few employees.) Next, I thought about Chilean farmers and the ag industry. How was this going to affect them? And finally I thought, how can I help?

Monsanto employees are likely to give. How do I know? Because they’ve given before. So far, Monsanto employees globally have donated in excess of $100,000 of their own money for Haitian disaster relief. Not only that, but the Monsanto Fund has matched that donation dollar for dollar through its Global Disaster matching gifts program. The Monsanto Fund is the philanthropic arm of the Monsanto Company.

Here’s how it works. In the case of a catastrophic  disaster, Monsanto employees globally can make a donation of up to  $1,000 to a qualifying not-for-profit organization that’s been vetted by the Monsanto Fund. Once I make my donation, I notify the Monsanto Fund and make a request for the dollar-for-dollar match. So if I contribute $100 to the American Red Cross for example, the Monsanto Fund will also make a $100 donation to the organization.

That’s for a catastrophic  disaster. But, as a U.S. employee, I can make donations throughout the year (up to the $5,000 limit) to other qualifying not-for-profit organizations and request a match. This doesn’t have to be disaster related.

Monsanto Company and Monsanto Fund also participate in charitable giving. In 2009, Monsanto Company and Monsanto Fund made combined donations of $27.4 million independent of its employee contributions.

It’s now become second nature for me to check the matching gifts program before I make any donation. Why not stretch my dollars further with the help of my employer? That’s smart giving.

Here are some examples of how Monsanto employees globally have given to catastrophic disaster relief in the past. In each case, the Monsanto Fund matched employee donations.


If you are an employee, how have you used your match in the past? I’ve supported colleagues riding in the MS150 bike race as part of our Monsanto Mavericks team in addition to contributing to an organization my family participates in – Big Brothers Big Sisters of Eastern Missouri.

2 Responses to “Monsanto Employees Come Through for Those in Need”

  1. Mica Veihman Says:

    I forgot to note that in 2009, Monsanto U.S. employees gave $1.4 million in charitable donations through the matching gifts program. With 10,300 U.S.-based employees as of Dec. 2009, that equates to approximately $135 per person!


Comments are closed.

